East African visaIn 2014 the governments of Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda created a new East African Tourist Visa (EATV). Under the scheme, tourists are entitled to a 90-day, multiple-entry visa that covers travel in and out of these three countries for a single fee of US$100. Neither Burundi nor Tanzania is part of the EATV. The visas are available on arrival at airports and most land crossings. Applications can also be made prior to traveling to the region, either at an embassy or consulate for one of the three countries in your home country or online. Although requirements vary from embassy to embassy, most applications require a single passport photo and a letter to embassy outlining your travel plans.

With the visa duly in your passport, your first port-of-call must be the country through which you applied for the visa, whereafter there are no restrictions on traveling in or out of the three countries. No visa extensions are possible.

Apart from convenience, the EATV could save you money, with individual visas for most nationalities costing US$50 for Kenya, US$50 for Uganda, and US$30 for Rwanda.

For more information and links to online application forms, visit

Scroll to top